The Barents Secretariat

The Norwegian Barents Secretariat is owned by the three northernmost counties of Norway: Nordland, Troms and Finnmark. The Secretariat’s budget is however mainly financed by the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The Norwegian Barents Secretariat receives an annual funding from the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development which is used for administrative expenses and for project funding. In addition we also receive funds from the Ministry of Health and Care services, The Ministry of Children and Equality and the Ministry of Culture and Church Affairs for special funding programs.

The board
The Board of the Norwegian Barents Secretariat is put together by one representative from each of the three northernmost counties, which owns the Secretariat.

The owners assembly
The owners assembly of the Norwegian Barents Secretariat consists of representatives from the elected county parliaments in Nordland, Troms and Finnmark county. There are two representatives from each county in the supervisory board.